Skip to content
December 12, 2011 / Rachel Bednarski

A Book Lover’s Christmas

Tumblr_ldouzdag7f1qapkj4o1_500_large I know, I know, I’ve been a bad Book Blogger of late – my having to work looong hours for university fees book money is to blame for my short hiatus but don’t fret (I know you were), I have still been reading and have lots of lovely reviews coming up once work dies down. On the bright side, it’s finally December! Which means it’s officially okay to get all Christmassy and play My Only Wish and watch Elf and The Polar Express and Shrek the Halls over and over again and no-one’s allowed to comment on the fact that you’re in your twenties and watching children’s films. Even WordPress has started snowing in my absence!

As everyone’s now truly in the swing of Christmas I thought it’d be prudent to mimic many other bloggers and dedicate a post to book-related Christmas gifts and stocking fillers. As I’ve gotten older and, incidentally, as I’ve read more – novels such as American Psycho and Generation X – I’ve kind of fallen out of favour of Christmas as a festival of consumerism, the best things in life aren’t things as we all know, so I kind of feel a bit wrong opening and giving countless interchangable objects for the sole purpose of opening and giving. That said – everyone enjoys a stocking with a few choice gifts. I think the following would make anybody happy on Christmas Day (it appears I have a new obsession with the Folio Society):

Charles Dickens is the real Father Christmas as we all know, so you can’t go wrong with Dickensian gifts, I feel. This illustrated copy of Dickens’s A Christmas Carol is really really beautiful. I have the Penguin Classics Hardback edition which also contains Other Christmas Writings but I think if you’re going to purchase any copy, it should really be this one.

(If you have a weakness for beautiful books and a tendency to purchase books online willy nilly then I suggest not visiting their website – you’ll find yourself financially and temporally bankrupt before you know what’s happened. Take it from me.

That said, just have a gander at these:

Mrs DallowayThe Master and MargaritaRebeccaHemingway Short StoriesOn the Road

Look at the brilliance of the inside illustrations:

Okay, I’ll stop now. I may have to do a whole blog post on the brilliance of these books.

This one’s not strictly book-related, but I think reading and hot beverages go together very well which is why I’ve included this next present, I also think it’s very important we look after our little Earth. The current trend in our busy busy commuter lives for being seen to be drinking coffee means that a heck of a lot of paper and plastic cups are being disposed of every day, which obviously isn’t good, which is why I’m lauding the campaign to get people filling up their own ceramic cups at Starbucks et al. so we can all reduce our carbon footprints. If you are loyal to your brand of coffee shop many are selling their own versions, but I don’t think you’ll find a lovlier cup than this:

Eco Cup For Tea Lovers - Styles and Colors May Vary

These make fantastic little gifts, and must also be commended for making me want to tear off their covers and hang them as art on my walls:

And the books top of my reading list for 2012, which I’m *secretly* hoping to find in my stocking:

The Master and Margarita – Mikhail Bulgakov

The Stranger’s Child – Alan Hollinghirst

Jane Eyre – Charlotte Bronte (I have read this one but don’t own a copy)

I will leave you with this

And a recommendation to go and listen to Kate Bush’s 50 Words for Snow, sharpish.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Michelle / Dec 13 2011 12:56 am

    Absolutely gorgeous books. Thanks for sharing 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. A Good Haul and A Round Up « blookblog

Leave a Reply

