Skip to content
October 25, 2011 / Rachel Bednarski

30 Day Book Meme: Day 7 – A Book That Scares Me

I apologise for the dominance of memes on here at the moment, but I do have some reviews coming soon, I promise. Everyone does love a meme though so it’s all good.

There are lots of books that scare me. I completely forgo the horror genre though, because ghosts and ghoulies really REALLY scare me. No, the books that really give me the heebies the most are those that reflect the human condition so astutely and so articulately that they make you reconsider your own life in such a way that you begin to worry you’re making all the wrong decisions and descending into a life of regret. The main book I am thinking of here is J.M. Coetzee’s Youth. Its depiction of the ease with which inaction can so easily and so insidiously effect the course of our lives and change the futures we envisaged for ourselves without us even noticing kind of felt like a smack in the face.

The Orwellian final chapter of A Visit from the Goon Squad also scared me as, like Bennie, I am nervous about how technology-dependent my children are likely to be, and I don’t want to deal with the very probable dilemma of deciding whether a two-year-old should be allowed an iPad.  In fact, A Visit from the Goon Squad scared me quite a bit in general; most books which portray the ephemeral nature of time make me feel all weird and mortal.

Leave a Reply

