Skip to content
October 21, 2011 / Rachel Bednarski

30 Day Book Meme: Day 5 – A Book I Wish I Could Live In

There are many books I wish I could live in. To get the most boringly obvious out of the way first, I would, like a lot of people I imagine, like to be able to go to Hogwarts and fly Hippogriffs and eat chocolate frogs and drink butter beer, I’d even like to join the Order of the Phoenix and do a bit of Voldemort fighting. It’d be nice to be able to be able to enjoy the wizarding world without being the Chosen One and all. I suppose I could go to The Wizarding World of Harry Potter, but it looks a bit rubbish.

Any Victorian or turn of the century novels up to the 1920s I would also like to live in. Modernist novels would be fun: Mrs Dalloway, The Sun Also Rises, perhaps even The Picture of Dorian Gray. I think the Victorian era is my favourite of all of the eras. Everything was so reserved but there was an underlying excitement and fear for change and a hidden world of scandal and rebellion. And, assuming I wasn’t in the workhouses or prostituting myself all over London, I could wear beautiful big dresses and bonnets and perhaps I’d get to meet Virginia Woolf and Oscar Wilde.

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory would be my utopia. I admit that I’d probably be Augustus Gloop.

I liked this 5th day Book Meme.

Leave a Reply

