Skip to content
October 15, 2011 / Rachel Bednarski

30 Day Book Meme: Day 2 – My Least Favourite Book

Without a doubt, my least favourite book is Mitch Albom’s Tuesdays with Morrie. Admittedly, my opinion of the book may have been slightly influenced by the fact that I read it straight after first reading To Kill a Mockingbird, my favourite book, but that cannot excuse the fact that Albom’s writing is horrible (surely he can’t have had an editor??) and the main character, which just happens to be Albom himself, is a self-indulgent, unlikable, trite, do-gooder who, through the self-important tone of his narrative, endows himself and his book with being emotionally instructive and life-altering.  The book insists upon itself. To this day I am still baffled by its popularity and gushingly superlative reviews – it makes me lose faith just a tiny bit.

Leave a Reply

