Skip to content
October 6, 2011 / Rachel Bednarski

30 Day Book Meme – Day 1: My Favourite Book

Tumblr_ls75dyq8nf1qmoq4oo1_500_largeI think I’ll be a clown when I get grown,’ said Dill. ‘Yes, sir, a clown…. There ain’t one thing in this world I can do about folks except laugh, so I’m gonna join the circus and laugh my head off.’ ‘You got it backwards, Dill,’ said Jem. ‘Clowns are sad, it’s folks that laugh at them.’ ‘Well, I’m gonna be a new kind of clown. I’m gonna stand in the middle of the ring and laugh at the folks.

So I begin my 30 days of book reminiscences with my favourite book. This may be a little predictable as I’m sure this one ranks highly in most people’s estimations, but the title of My Favourite Book can go to no other than Harper Lee’s To Kill a Mockingbird.

I was travelling round South America when I read the book and, I’m ashamed to admit, it had been pushed to the bottom of my backpack as, after beginning it at the start of my trip, I had struggled to get past the first page. It was only 6 weeks into my travels, when I had read every other book in my possession, that through utter boredom whilst waiting for a delayed flight to Rio de Janiero, I was finally forced to dig it back out. I will be forever indebted to that delayed plane.

To Kill a Mockingbird is unmatched in its enduring brilliance and the characters of Scout, Jem and Atticus are so perfectly realised that they really must be the most wonderful characters in modern literature. The novel resonates, it moves, it is charming.

The BF had also exhausted his reading material by the time we finally arrived in Brazil and we therefore ended up sharing the book, I would read a chapter and then pass it to him – giving it up was extremely difficult and I remember urging him catch up to where I was in the story so I had someone to talk to about it! I came to the end the night before he did and I will always remember how we both spent the next day in an oddly pensive mood, it was only at the end of the day that we both admitted we felt as though we’d lost a friend.

 After that we were able to procure only one novel in the English language – which takes me nicely onto day 2 of the 30 day meme, my least favourite book.

Leave a Reply

